Skip to content

Bacon Party

June 29, 2011

Let’s be real.  Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, loves bacon.  I was vegetarian for a large portion of my 23 years, and you know the thing that tipped me back? Bacon.  It’s just so good!!!

In college my boyfriend was in a fraternity at MIT.  I don’t know if you’ve ever seen a frat kitchen before, but it is STOCKED with delicious things you would never find in a girl house.  There’s a never ending supply of burritos, cheese of all varieties, hamburgers, ice cream sandwiches, popsicles, the list goes on and on.  After parties it was practically required that all the girlfriends run down stairs and raid the kitchen in a way only drunk girls can.  My unofficial job was to cook up bacon for all the girls (trust me, girls can PUT IT AWAY) and the random boys who would wander in also looking for munchies.  I probably ate enough bacon in those years to ensure I’ll die of heart disease by 25, c’est la vive at least I still have 2 good years left.

I DIGRESS

Bacon is awesome. So when I saw praline bacon on the Good Eats episode about salt (“The Ballad of Salty and Sweet” 2010)  I just had to try it. The results were spectacular, I single handedly ate 4 pieces.  I could have eaten more, but my roommate came in and for some reason it feels…weird….to inhale strips of pure fat and sugar with someone watching.

Praline Bacon

  • 1 lb thick cut bacon
  • 2 1/2 oz light brown sugar (about 6 tbsp)
  • 1 1/2 pecan halves

Heat the oven to 400

Line a half sheet pan with aluminum foil and place a cooling rack on top

Arrange the bacon on the cooling rack

and bake for 30-35 minutes or until the bacon browns and the fat is rendered and bubbly

While the bacon is baking, combine the brown sugar and pecans in a food processor, and pulse about 15 times until the pecans are chopped.

When you remove the bacon from the oven, sprinkle the brown sugar/pecan mixture over the bacon, patting slightly so everything adheres

Put back in the oven for an additional 10 minutes or until bacon is crisp.

Let bacon sit for 10 minutes to cool, then enjoy!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

